Latest updates...

EVOKED - review
(September 16, 2019)
KEITZER - review
(September 14, 2019)
DEATHROLL - review
(September 12, 2019)
UNGFELL - review
(September 12, 2019)
(September 11, 2019)
TOTAL HATE - review
(September 11, 2019)
NOCTURNUS AD - interview
(September 10, 2019)
SORCERY - review
(September 08, 2019)
KAPALA - review
(September 06, 2019)
KRINGA - review
(September 05, 2019)
(September 05, 2019)
DISGRACE - review
(September 04, 2019)
(September 04, 2019)
+MROME+ - review
(September 03, 2019)
VORDR - review
(September 01, 2019)
SCATMOTHER /... - review
(August 30, 2019)
HEADHUNTER D.C. - review
(August 29, 2019)
(August 29, 2019)
(August 29, 2019)
EVIL HATRED - review
(August 28, 2019)
(August 27, 2019)
TEMPLE OF VOID /... - review
(August 25, 2019)
MISþYRMING - review
(August 24, 2019)
VECTIS - review
(August 24, 2019)

Death... Is Just The Beginning Vol. 6
(Nuclear Blast Records)

What originally started out as a suitably named "Death... Is Just The Beggining" compilation of extreme (Death) Metals artists on NBR has pretty much progressed to become a full label compilation that includes all styles of music with less than 50% Death Metal attitude in the meantime. However, this 6th edition will give you a brilliant overview on Nuclear Blast's current repertoire (36 bands in total!) as it includes a mixture of the most wellknown and outstanding tracks of all latest releases as well as plenty of rare / unreleased material. The special material is: HELLOWEEN - 'Deliver Us From Temptation' (solid non-album track with strong main verse!), STRATOVARIUS - 'Why Are We Here' (midpaced half-ballad non-album track with the typical soft Strato-hookline), IN FLAMES - 'Strong & Smart' (Unreleased short cover track originally written by NO FUN AT ALL. Pretty cool idea...), PRIMAL FEAR - 'Horrorscoop' (Unreleased but probably also an album-leftover!?), SINERGY - 'Invincible' (pretty good unreleased PAT BENATAR cover), S.O.D. - 'Raise Your Sword' (funny and so far unreleased MANOWAR-Type anthem song with over-the-top parody lyrics and playing!), THE KOVENANT - 'New World Order' (previously unreleased Mat Sinner Metal Remix version of the "Animatronic" song that doesn't sound much better than initially in this more guitar-driven, more RAMMSTEIN-like version), PEGAZUS - 'Time Machine' (nice, raw BLACK SABBATH cover), U.D.O. - 'Hardcore Lover' (solid unreleased song... what a title!), DESTRUCTION - 'Whiplash' (cool METALLICA cover with some funny lyrical changes, so far only available as special bonus track on the LP version of "All Hell Breaks Loose" in Europe), OPPROBIUM - 'Massacre Of The Unborn' ("Previously unreleased track"? Common, you don't fool an old deathrasher! This is a re-recorded version of a song originally off the second INCUBUS album that sounded far more intense before!), MORTIFICATION - 'Dead Man Walking' (in a live version..."Who wants to hear some Jesus Christ Metal?") and SUSPERIA - 'Of Hate We Breed' (demo version of a song from their debut "Seven Sins"). The wonderful cover art has been once again designed by Kristian Wahlin and the whole release comes in a some deluxe digipak outfit. Unfortunately there is only brief and superficial liner notes to each of the bands without much further info on the tracks and also the rest of the booklet / layout doesn't look very lovely either because it's mainly pretty shitty outtakes from the cover-art in bigger and not so good resolution. However, an interesting item for collectors due to the fair amount of unreleased material! There is also a VHS and DVD version to be released of this compilation series (different track-listings...), so watch out in case you prefer to have these bands moshing your screens instead of your stereo...

Leif Jensen

< back   |   print   |   report errors

© 2000 - 2017 - Voices From The Darkside   |   Page origin: Dec. 04, 2000   |   Site notice   |   Privacy policy