August 16, 2011

With the CD reissue of DEATH STRIKE‘s classic "Fuckin’ Death" already available, Dark Descent Records is now taking pre-orders for the vinyl version. It will be available as a limited edition of 100 gold colored vinyl with matching gold pantone LP jackets and LP labels (only available through the Dark Descent Records web store) and a imited edition of 100 silver colored vinyl with matching silver pantone LP jackets and LP labels (only available through Me Saco Un Ojo Records web store at The remaining vinyl will be black colored vinyl; half with gold pantone LP jackets / labels while the other half come with silver pantone LP jackets / labels. The LP reissue contains the original eight tracks offered by the 1991 Nuclear Blast edition and a bonus 7" with four rehearsal tracks that were released with the reissued CD version by Dark Descent in mid-2011. The layout features new liner notes from Paul Speckmann and a foreword by "Zoltar" from Terrorizer Magazine. More details at

During the years before the resurrection FESTER’s Bjørn "Tiger" Mathisen and Thomas Andresen played in a band called SINCERA. Formed in 2002, the band was meant as a side project with members from local Metal bands such as DECIPHER, FESTER, WITHER, PSYCHOTIC PAIN and ALGOL. Playing a more furious, more aggressive style of Black / Death, SINCERA tapped into some of the more aggressive feelings that the members had, yet some FESTER-ish and slow moments are kept as well. Abyss Records will release a very special album from SINCERA later this autumn. The first recorded release that FESTER’s Bjørn "Tiger" Mathisen Fester was involved in 17 years will be called "Cursed And Proud" and will include a remastered version of the unreleased "Tall And Proud" demo and four live tracks. Artwork comes courtesy of Luciferian War Graphics. Tracklist (Studio): ‘Tall And Proud’, ‘A Griever’s Soul’, ‘Cursed (Could Have Been Such A Beautiful Word If Not Thrown Upon By Others)’ and ‘Blinded’. "Live In The Essence…": ‘Die Like Jesus Christ’, ‘Where Am I !?!’, ‘Move’, ‘Smell Of Fear’ and ‘Byron Lawless’ (the latter being a bonus track, made as an entrance song for Norwegian wrestler Byron Lawless).

FESTER has just completed the recording of their first studio album in 17 years, entitled "A Celebration Of Death". The album is targeted for a late 2011 / early 2012 release through Abyss Records. Original member Bjørn "Tiger" Mathisen has recruited Thomas Andresen (ALGOL) on vocals, Jon Bakker (KAMPFAR) on bass and Grammy nominated Jazz drummer Audun Kleive for session drums. Mortiis has made a hellish and dark remix of one of the songs and there are contributions from Mr. Kyrck and Guido of YSENGRIN. The art is done by Alex Brown of Bad News Brown. Bjørn "Tiger" Mathisen commented on the album: "FESTER has kept their old school feel, and maybe even taking it back to the Stone Age. No effect boxes are used on the guitars; just the basic and sick sounds of old guitars, amps and racks from the late 60s and early 70s, produced in the most dark and wicked way you can imagine. The influence of old school Metal acts like CELTIC FROST, BATHORY etc. can be heard on this release too. FESTER has kept its identity from the past. This is surely an atypical Metal sound, but cold as ice and mean as hell!"

Report errors

Leave a Reply