March 01, 2011

Relapse Records have signed Japan’s COFFINS. The band is currently writing for their fourth full-length and Relapse debut with plans to record later this year. COFFINS will embark on their first-ever European tour this April alongside SOURVEIN and AGUIRRE as part of the "Doom Over Europe" tour. This tour will conclude with a performance as part of the sold-out Roadburn Festival in Tilburg, Netherlands. You’ll find the dates here. More info at

VOMITORY have revealed the tracklisting for their long-anticipated eighth studio album "Opus Mortis VIII". It was produced, engineered and mixed by Rikard Löfgren in his own Leon music studios. Comments VOMITORY drummer Tobias Gustafsson: "Opus Mortis VIII" is our eighth album (no shit!) – our eighth Opus of Death. And I dare to say that this is one of the strongest albums we’ve done, and it most certainly has the most powerful production we’ve ever had on any album, hands down. For the third time, we worked with Rikard Löfgren in his Leon Music Studios. We raised the bar quite a few notches in the studio – both production-wise and performance-wise, and we couldn’t be happier with the result. We are not breaking new Death Metal ground with this album – that was never VOMITORY’s mission – but "Opus Mortis VIII" offers diversity and dynamics that you haven’t quite heard from VOMITORY before. Still, this is a very intense and aggressive album in the true VOMITORY tradition – all the essential signature details are there. Once you hear the opening track, ‘Regorge In The Morgue’, you will need no further proof of that!" "Opus Mortis VIII" will be released on April 23/26, 2011 via Metal Blade Records in Europe. The limited first edition will be a digipak featuring four exclusive bonus tracks. Those tracks are re-recorded versions of songs taken off the first two VOMITORY albums. The complete tracklisting: ‘Regorge In The Morgue’, ‘Bloodstained’, ‘They Will Burn’, ‘The Dead Awaken’, ‘Hate In A Time Of War’, ‘Torturous Ingenious’, ‘Forever Damned’, ‘Shrouded In Darkness’, ‘Combat Psychosis’ and ‘Requiem For The Fallen’. Bonus tracks: ‘Nervegasclouds 2011’, ‘Raped In Their Own Blood 2011’, ‘Redemption 2011’ and ‘The Voyage 2011’. In other news VOMITORY will play a short tour through Finland in March. For the dates click here.

SIX FEET UNDER have issued the following update regarding the band’s line-up: "We would like to announce and welcome the addition of guitarist Rob Arnold (Chimaira) to the SIX FEET UNDER family! Just wanted to give you a SIX FEET UNDER band update and let you all know that we would like to announce our good friend Rob Arnold will be joining SFU as 2nd rhythm guitarist for upcoming touring duties, as well as collaborating on the new CD." Chris Barnes comments: "I couldn’t be happier about the new songs and line-up! Rob and myself have been collaborating on new songs along with the bands new drummer, Kevin Talley for the past few months. We are all feeling really excited about the bands future, and the raw intensity of the songs that we have created together so far. This is the heaviest most exciting material that I’ve worked on since "The Bleeding", and im stoked that Rob will be helping out creating this cd with us! We’ve all known each other for a while and we’re really looking forward to continue writing the new CD and future tours. We are committed to taking SIX FEET UNDER to the next level of brutality!!!" Rob Arnold comments: "It’s been an amazing honor and opportunity to have been called upon by one of my biggest idols, Chris Barnes!! SIX FEET UNDER and the Barnes era Cannibal stuff had enormous effects on me as a young musician, and still do to this day. In 1996, I was a kid in the front row screaming my head off to ‘Lycanthropy’ and ‘Torn To The Bone’…and now here I am, being asked to play the songs on stage with the band! Dreams do come true!!! And the stuff we’ve been writing absolutely rips! Watch out!!"

AMORPHIS will release their new album "The Beginning Of Times" on May 25, 2011. In April, the band will offer a first glimpse of the new material by releasing the single "You I Need". The album comprises 12 songs with a total length of 54 minutes. In addition, the first edition digipak will include the bonus track ‘Heart’s Song’. "The Beginning Of Times" was produced by the band; vocals were recorded under the guidance of Marco Hietala (NIGHTWISH, TAROT) in his home studio in Kuopio. Like its predecessors, the album was mixed by Mikko Karmila. The cover artwork shows Travis Smith’s interpretation of the mythological birth of the world from a goldeneye’s egg. The central character of the new songs is the iconic hero of Finnish mythology, Väinämöinen, whose tale has been masterfully retold by lyricist Pekka Kainulainen. In June, AMORPHIS will embark on the extensive "The Beginning Of Times" tour, which is scheduled to continue through 2012. Here’s the complete tracklist: ‘Battle For Light’, ‘Mermaid’, ‘My Enemy’, ‘You I Need’, ‘Song Of The Sage’, ‘Three Words’, ‘Reformation’, ‘Soothsayer’, ‘On A Stranded Shore’, ‘Escape’, ‘Crack In A Stone’, ‘Beginning Of Time’ and ‘Heart’s Song’ (digipak bonus).

Chaos Records recently released two vinyl editions of ZOMBIEFICATION‘s debut album "Midnight Stench", incl. the exclusive bonus track ‘Blood & Disgorge’. It is available in limited edition (200 copies) 350 gram vinyl with gatefold jacket and 180 gram silver vinyl. The regular LP edition is available in 350 gram black vinyl with gatefold jacket. All further details at Band info at

The following statement was issued by EPITOMITE PRODUCTIONS founder, Von Young (LIVIDITY): "Hi all, after a lot of thought I have decided to shut down Epitomite. I am gonna start selling everything off. If you are interested let me know. As far as releases go they will be sold at $1 without cases and $2 with cases. The list of what is available is here, with a the amount of what is roughly left in stock. Shipping will need to be added after the amount to purchase is chosen. I will be also selling off the distro and it is available online at the site. All distro CDs will be only $3 and will be shipped with cases in the states and without outside of US / CAN unless requested otherwise. It will take a while to move all of this so I do not expect to be done soon. I will still do trades without a problem so whatever you may need let me know. Everything is first come / first served and I will not be able to hold things at this time – sorry paypal payments can be made at Thanx for the support and keep it sick. It has been a pleasure working with you all."

Report errors

Leave a Reply