December 13, 2012

The new VOIVOD album, “Target Earth“, will be released on January 21 (in Europe) and January 22, 2013 (in North America). Some of the tracks are currently streaming at this location. Behind-the-scenes footage, plus an exclusive interview with Away (Michel Langevin) and Chewy (Daniel Mongrain) about the making of the album, can also be viewed online here. “Target Earth” was recorded at Wild Studios in Quebec with producer Pierre Rémillard and mixed by Sanford Parker (PELICAN, NACHTMYSTIUM). The original art was once again drawn by drummer Away and features color schemes from each one of the band’s previous albums. The album brings back original bass player, Blacky (Jean Yves Thériault), marking his first recordings with the band since 1991’s "Angel Rat". It’s also the first to feature guitarist, Chewy (Dan Mongrain). The tracklist reads like this: ‘Target Earth’, ‘Kluskap O’Kom’, ‘Empathy For The Enemy’, ‘Mechanical Mind’, ‘Warchaic’, ‘Resistance’, ‘Kaleidos’, ‘Corps Étranger’, ‘Artefact’ and ‘Defiance’. The album will be available in Europe as limited edition Mediabook CD (with bonus tracks), standard CD, gatefold double vinyl and as very limited edition deluxe box set (details on that to be announced soon). All further info at

The new DEFEATED SANITY album, "Passages Into Deformity", will be released on February 5, 2013 through Willowtip Records. It was recorded at Soundlodge Studios in Germany with guest vocal appearances by Frank Rini (INTERNAL BLEEDING), AJ Magana (ex – DEFEATED SANITY, DISGORGE US), and Brian Forgue (SYPHILIC, GUTROT) and sound effects performed by Jon Engman (ex – BRODEQUIN). The follow-up to 2010’s "Chapters Of Repugnance" will be released with a bonus DVD featuring making-of clips, interviews with the band and performance videos. In related news, DEFEATED SANITY will be touring in Russia and Belarus next year in support of "Passages Into Deformity". More info at

KING DIAMOND has been signed by Metal Blade Records for a new 3 album worldwide record deal. “This is gonna be awesome! Another perfect piece of the puzzle. We have the full backup of Metal Blade, and there’s an understanding between us that goes much, much deeper than before. Our new business setup will noticeably benefit the fans in so many ways. You must have already noticed some of all the cool new stuff that is happening. Now we can’t wait to get out there and start touring again!” – Stay Heavy, King Diamond.

The tape version of CULT OF FIRE‘s debut LP "Triumvirát", which was self-released by the band in July, is available now through Atomic Vision Productions (in co-operation with In League With Satan Productions). It is limited to 333 pro-manufactured tapes and additionally contains one song rejected from the LP and two bonus songs from their debut EP "20:11". For more information or ordering details contact or check out

Svart Records will release the new CONVULSE EP "Inner Evil" on limited vinyl, CD and digital on January 25, 2013. The EP, recorded in full analog in the autumn of 2012, consists two long exclusive tracks. The band still features the original vocalist, guitarist and bass player in their ranks, and a new full length album is scheduled for autumn 2013. "Our new material has a strong old school Death Metal feel to it, and the band is tighter than ever before", says CONVULSE guitarist / vocalist Rami Jämsä. "When recording, we concentrated on the energy brought on by playing everything live – no triggers or Pro Tools. Nothing beats a well-rehearsed band playing live, be it on stage or in the studio." More info at

Report errors

Leave a Reply