July 11, 2005

Midnight Records has released a vinyl compilation 7" EP, entitled "Don’t Burn The Witch" that features over 13 minutes of previously unreleased material by EVIL ANGEL, MINOTAUR, GOAT MESSIAH and TOXIC HOLOCAUST. The EP comes with a full coloured cover, "tribute" insert and is limited to 1000 copies (the first 100 will be on coloured vinyl and include a free MINOTAUR patch). It sells for $5 (world ppd.). For further details contact Wes at Midnight Records at this email address: chemikill@hotmail.com

NOMINON has been confirmed as the support act to the VITAL REMAINS European tour between September 10th and October 1st, 2005.

According to MTV.com, Bay Area Thrash Metal veterans EXODUS have titled their upcoming album "Shovel Headed Kill Machine". Produced by Andy Sneap (MACHINE HEAD, ARCH ENEMY), the disc is scheduled for an October 5 release through Nuclear Blast and is the band’s first to feature ex – SLAYER drummer Paul Bostaph and new singer Rob Dukes.

Holland’s THANATOS have issued the following update via their website (www.thanatos.info): "We’ve got some good news, some bad news and some interesting news for you. First the good news: THANATOS just got back from the Excess Studios where we recorded two tracks that will be used as bonus tracks for the next full length album. We’re talking about a re-recording of 1992’s ‘And Jesus Wept’ and a blistering cover version of DARK Fuckin’ ANGEL’s ‘The Burning Of Sodom’. Audio samples of the (rough mix) versions of both songs will be available on the site in a couple of weeks and the final mixes will be done during the recording sessions of the next album. OK, now the bad news; guitarist / vocalist Stephan Gebédi is facing a serious affection of the nerves in his wrist and his neck, which means he won’t be able to play guitar and continue the writing process for the new THANATOS songs for the time being. We had initially planned to record the next album in October / November 2005, but now it seems more likely that the recordings won’t take place until February / March 2006. Finally, we had a visit from the BBC recently. THANATOS will be featured in a documentary series on the European Union. One of the episodes deals with Holland’s loss of identity and values because of certain religious movements (i.e. the Islam) gaining more and more power in Dutch society etc… the band was interviewed and asked to perform the song ‘Lambs To The Slaughter’ live in our rehearsal place. Hopefully we won’t be depicted as some sort of paranoid racist / narrow minded morons cause we’re not. The series will probably be aired in December 2005."

Roadrunner Records (www.roadrunnerrecords.com) have confirmed August 30th as the release date for OPETH‘s new album, "Ghost Reveries". The 65 minute album was mastered in Stockholm, Sweden on June 16th. The complete tracklisting is as follows: ‘Ghost Of Perdition’, ‘The Baying Of The Hounds’, ‘Beneath The Mire’, ‘Atonement’, ‘Reverie / Harlequin Forest’, ‘Hours Of Wealth’, ‘The Grand Conjuration’ and ‘Isolation Years’.

Swedish Black Metallers MARDUK have posted the following message at their website (www.marduk.nu): "Due to delays from the printing company the reissued version of the "Dark Endless" album still hasn’t arrived. Everybody who have preordered it from our store will recive their copies very soon. We hope to receive it from the printer in a few days. We have also added an interview from the latest edition of Metal Maniacs. Check the interview section. The South American tour will take place during November. We are just waiting for confirmation for the final dates then they will be posted. The first rehearsals since drummer Emil (Dragutinovic) broke his arm has been done. Can assure you all that MARDUK sounds more intense and brutal than ever before. More news to follow soon."

Sweden’s DISMEMBER (www.dismember.se) has issued the following update: "The band will enter Sami Studio in Stockholm (Sweden) on August 15th to take on the recording of their 7th album. The recordings end in September, and the album is planned for a mid-January release. Drummer Fred Estby will once again produce the band and some of the new titles are ‘The God That Never Was’, ‘Feel The Darkness’ and ‘Through The Unbroken Black’."

Report errors

Leave a Reply