June 27, 2005

Relapse Records will reissue the entire recorded works of seminal technical Metal pioneers ATHEIST (1989’s "Piece Of Time", 1992’s "Unquestionable Presence" and 1993’s "Elements"). "I am overwhelmed with joy to see the re-release of the entire ATHEIST catalog after so many years", commented guitarist / vocalist and founding member Kelly Shaefer. Shaefer continues, "I’ve toured extensively since making these records, and everywhere I go I run into people who were not just into ATHEIST, but who praised the band’s uniqueness and how much it forced them to progress as musicians and push the boundaries as players… I have been hunting for a label that would treat the catalog with the respect it deserves and whose goal is the same as ours: to turn the new generation of extreme Metal and Prog Metal heads onto ATHEIST. Relapse is that label as it has a true understanding of where ATHEIST helped to rewrite the timeline of Metal." Relapse will start by issuing a limited edition, foil-stamped box set containing LP versions of each of the ATHEIST full-lengths, as well as the R.A.V.A.G.E. (pre-ATHEIST) "On They Slay" 7" EP exclusive to this edition. The LP box will be strictly limited to 1,000 copies and surface in July. The CD re-issues will follow in the late Summer / early Fall, starting with "Elements" on August 30 (US) and September 5 (Europe).

ARCTURUS have announced via their website (www.arcturus.no) that their forthcoming new album will be titled "Sideshow Symphonies". The release is due out in September or October through Season Of Mist. Also, ARCTURUS plan to record their September 24th date at Rockefeller in Oslo, Norway for an upcoming DVD release. More details as they become available.

DIVINE RAPTURE guitarist J.J. Hrubovcak is featured on the upcoming new album from VILE. J.J. performs two guitar solos on the album, entitled "The New Age Of Chaos". Listenable Records will issue the new album later this year. For more information head to www.liquidenergy.net

Report errors

Leave a Reply