May 21, 2007

Drummer / vocalist Proscriptor from the mythological occult Metal outfit ABSU has issued the following statement: "After 5 years of silence, I am pleased to announce the new line-up of ABSU. It was a difficult task to replace both Shaftiel and Equitant after being together for nearly 11 years, but now is the time to carry on. Here is the new reorganization of the band: Proscriptor McGovern (percussives, mellotron, voices & lyrical magick), Vastator Terrarum (guitars, bass guitar, analog synthesizers & backing voices) and Aethyris MacKay (guitars, bass guitar, analog synthesizers & backing voices). We have begun composing and arranging the material for what will be known as the self-titled album, simply called "Absu". In 2002, 4 out of 16 tracks were written; 2 of them we’re keeping while the other 2 we’re abandoning. We will begin recording in the latter part of autumn 2007 or early 2008 anticipating a release before June 2008 for Osmose Productions / The End Records. "Absu" projected track listing (in no particular order): ‘Night Fire Canonization’, ‘Girra’s Temple’, ‘Amy’, ‘In The Name Of Auebothiabathabaithobeuee’, ’13 Globes’, ‘Voor’, ‘Twix Yesterday, The Day & The Morrow’, ‘Between The Absu Of Eridu & Erech’, ‘Those Of The Void Will Re-Enter’, ‘Magick Square Cipher’, ‘Sceptre Command’, ‘Nunbarshegunu’, ‘Diversified Signs Inscribed’, ‘Our Earth Of Black’, ‘Ye Uttuku Spells’ and ‘…Of The Dead Who Never Rest In Their Tombs Is The Attendance Of Familiar Spirits…’. Lyrically, I am concentrating more on Sumerian-based occult themes of magick and mythology versus the Celtic aspect of my previous writings, which was heavily expressed on the last few ABSU studio albums. Musically speaking, the material will be quite similar to "Tara," but with more of a 70s progressive / psychedelic texture within it. You will not be disappointed – trust me. I will be utilizing the first logo created by Equitant and Belgian artist Kris Verwimp will handle the cover illustration once again." In other news, Osmose Productions / The End Records will re-release a remastered digipak version of the last studio album, "Tara," including the EP "In The Eyes Of Ioldánach" as bonus tracks, which will be released in September.

Report errors

Leave a Reply