» News Archive December 2007

December 27, 2007

The full tracklisting of NÅSTROND‘s forthcoming fourth album "Muspellz Synir" reads as follows: ‘Intro – The Gallow Reveals’, ‘Fenrir Prophesy’, ‘Edrök’, ‘Defiance Of The Transient’, ‘Dark Fyres’, ‘Die Sense die die schwarze Herbstzeitlose mäht’, ‘Ascending Blaze’, ‘Agios’, ‘Svarta Stränder (Digerdöden)’, ‘Calling The Serpentine’, ‘Ior’, ‘Mouth Of The Sea’, ‘Passing Beyond Light’ and ‘Nåstrond’. You can check out the coverartwork here. For more info head to www.debemur-morti.com.

December 25, 2007

DEMONICAL have parted ways with their vocalist Ludvig Engellau. Here’s the official statement from the band: "We have parted ways with vocalist Ludvig Engellau due to musical and personal reasons. We want to thank Ludvig for his effort and wish him the best for the future. DEMONICAL will continue on the marked out path with the help of a session vocalist so all booked and projected shows are going to happen as agreed. A new full time vocalist will be announced during the first quarter of 2008."

Iron Pegasus Records will release the HAIL OF BULLETS 4 song promo CD on vinyl at the end of January (www.iron-pegasus.com). HAIL OF BULLETS was created by ASPHYX / ex-PESTILENCE vocalist Martin van Drunen and THANATOS / HOUWITZER / GOREFEST members. The MLP will contain 20 minutes of old school Death Metal. The band’s debut album will follow on Metal Blade Records later in 2008.

December 21, 2007

NECROS CHRISTOS is currently rehearsing for a last three song recording with Luciferus Christhammer on drums which will feature a brand new track, a cover from Black Sabbath and a newly arranged version of the classic ‘Doom Of Nekros – Death Of Christos’. Those tracks will be released as 4th side on the upcoming vinyl release of all three Necros Christos demos somewhere in 2008. Labels taking care of this output are Faustian Distribution, Ahdistuksen Aihio and Black Warcult Productions. The vinyl version of "Triune Impurity Rites" is coming very soon on Sepulchral Voice Records. Slight problems occurred according to the re-press of the CD as the printing factory denied the reprint due to the content of the booklet.

December 15, 2007

Regain Records will continue the co-operation with GORGOROTH‘s original member Infernus with a new line-up. This new line-up will be announced by Infernus through the new official website www.gorgoroth.info. Regain Records recognizes Infernus as the rightful owner of the bands name, logo and trademark, and is prepared to take any legal steps necessary to prevent any 3rd part from exploiting it, artistically and commercially. A long time commitment between Infernus and Regain Records has been signed and Gorgoroth’s next album entitled "Quantos Possund Ad Satanitatem Trahunt" – as well as the follow-up – will be released on Regain Records.

December 14, 2007

Before the end of the year Germany’s Ván Records will release the debut full length of TRUPPENSTURM ("Fields Of Devastation") and the self-titled full length of INARBORAT. Check out soundsamples of TRUPPENSTURM’s ‘Walk The Path Of War’ and Inarborat’s ‘Moorlichter’ or head to the label website www.van-records.de for all further info.

Rivot Rag Records have released a limited edition (555 copies) split 7" EP of ABSCESS / EATMYFUK. It’s available in red or black vinyl. To order a copy send an email to rivotrag@yahoo.com

Swedish Death Metal act STARTERHEAD has released ‘The Last Words’, a new song from their upcoming album "Undergrounding", at www.myspace.com/starterhead. The album was produced by Jens Bogren (OPETH, KATATONIA) and will be released in the begining of 2008 through a label yet to be announced.

December 12, 2007

DÉTENTE will play a reunion-show at next year’s Headbangers Open Air festival in Germany with the following line-up: Dennis Butler (drums), Caleb Quinn (guitars), Steve Hochheiser (bass), Ann Boleyn (vocals – HELLION) and Juan Garcia (guitars – Agent Steel). For more details about the festival check out our tourdates section or go to www.headbangers-open-air.de

ULYSSES SIREN‘s classic 80s Bay Area Thrash album "Above The Ashes" shall be available for the first time ever on vinyl. Exclusively released by Shaxul / Relentless, the gatefold vinyl will include the 1985 "Terrorist Attack" demo on side A and their 1987 demo on side B. Featuring John Torres of Heathen and Manny Lopez of Bacchus, this is one of the great lost 80s Thrash Metal classics of Bay Area history and fans of this style should take note. New artwork has been assembled from the Bay Area Thrash Metal archives to compliment the music, including many old flyers, demo tape covers and original art used for US shows in the 80s. Limited to 500 and the first 100 will be on black vinyl with red splatter. Available February 1st, 2008. To pre-order email shaxul@comcast.net with shipping address. For more info on ULYSSES SIREN check out www.myspace.com/ulyssessiren

December 02, 2007

GRAVE have been signed by Regain Records. The band is currently in the studio working on their 8th album with a title yet to be announced.

December 01, 2007

From Demonaz Occulta of IMMORTAL comes his solo project DEMONAZ. You can already check out four of the songs at www.demonaz.com. A full length album is to be released in 2008 (no schedule set yet). The musicians on the project consist of: Demonaz (vocals, music & lyrics), Abbath (bass, backing vocals), Ice Dale (guitars) and Armagedda (drums).

SATYRICON had to cancel their performance at the Arnhem Metal Meeting. Here’s the official statement from the band: "It is with deep regret we have to inform you that Frost broke his leg yesterday morning. As a result of this, our headlining performance at Arnhem Metal Meeting has been cancelled. It was a freak accident where he simply slipped on ice and snow covered surface, fell to the ground with his foot in a twisted position, and broke it. This was obviously very bad news given our scheduled show at Arnhem Metal Meeting this coming Saturday. However, with Frosts history of actually playing 10 shows in a row on our European Tour in 2003 with a broken foot, we were hoping he could pull this one off as well. Doctors said last night they wanted to keep him at the hospital over night for observation and we agreed on making a desicion as to whether he could do the show, today. Unfortunately we have been informed today that his brake is so complicated that it needs surgery which will take place shortly. They intend to keep him hospitalized for at least one week. Perhaps two. We apologize for the inconvenience this causes to our fans and the festival. As Satyricon is also in the midst of rehearsing a new album, we will to have take an unwanted break from that. We will re-organzise and put our attention into other parts of the album-making process to ensure no delays. Have a great festival and join us in wishing Frost a speedy recovery." – Oslo, Norway 29/11/07.

L.A. Thrashers BONDED BY BLOOD are set to record their debut Earache release "Feed The Beast" with producer Michael Rosen. Rosen, who has worked with the likes of TESTAMENT, VIO-LENCE, SADUS, JOE SATRIANI and DEATH ANGEL, will begin working with the band in the New Year. Commented BONDED BY BLOOD vocalist Aladdin: "It feels freaking awesome. He has produced and engineered some of my favorite bands – TESTAMENT, VIO-LENCE and SADUS – and now BONDED BY BLOOD. It’s like a dream come true. "Feed The Beast" is sure to be one kick-ass album." BONDED BY BLOOD will commence recording "Feed The Beast" on January 11, 2008 at J Street Recorders (TESLA) in Sacramento, California. The album’s track listing is as follows: ‘Immortal Life’, ‘Feed The Beast’, ‘The Evil Within’, ‘Another Disease’, ‘Unusual Punishment’, ‘Vengeance’, ‘To A Sickening Degree’, ‘Strike Of Fear’, ‘Sounds Of Torture’, ‘Necropsy’, ‘Self-Immolation’ and ‘Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles – Theme Song’ (bonus track). More info coming soon.