» News Archive August 2008

August 26, 2008

German old school Death Metal band MANDATORY are currently in negotiation with several labels to release their (still unmixed) new recording "Adrift Beyond". In the meantime Japanese based Obliteration Records released "Exiled In Pain" which contains all MANDATORY stuff that was released so far, including 4 previously unreleased bonus tracks and 2 cover tunes (‘Cross Me Fool’ from RAZOR and ‘Slaughter Of The Innocent’ from REPULSION). This release can be ordered directly from the band for 8 € + shipping. Further details at www.myspace.com/mandatory1989

August 23, 2008

New York’s WHIPLASH is back together again, working on new material. Three songs are already written and the band is currently in the process of writing some more. The line-up consists of Tony Portaro on vocals / guitar, Joe Cangelosi on drums and Rich Day on bass. Rich used to be in Joe’s first ever band DEATHCORPS way back in 1985 and also played in PRIMAL SCREAM from Brooklyn in the 80s.

August 21, 2008

To celebrate the ten year jubileum of REPUGNANT, there will be a re-release of the band’s old demotapes "Spawn Of Pure Malevolence" and "Draped In Cerecloth". The album will be entitled "Ex Cathedra In Natura" and also include the Obscurity cover ‘Mortal Remains’ (which originally appeared on their split 7" with Pentacle). It is going to be released on CD by Soulseller Records and on LP / PicLP it will be co-released by Soulseller, Nuclear Winter and To The Death Records.

August 19, 2008

OBSCURA will headline this year’s edition of the Munich Deathfest which will take place November 8, 2008 in Munich, Germany. The band recently finished the recordings of their second album, which will be released at the beginning of 2009. OBSCURA announced that they will perform all songs of the upcoming album during the show in Munich. For more information visit www.myspace.com/munichdeathfest

August 15, 2008

GODDEFIED‘s "Abysmal Grief" (originally released as a MCD by Wild Rags Records in 1993) will be re-released as a 7" EP by Blood Harvest from Sweden. A release date is not yet set, but you may keep yourselves updated through one of the following websites: www.bloodharvest.se or www.goddefied.com

August 09, 2008

Tony Schepkens, bassplayer for Belgium’s Grinders AGATHOCLES, passed away on August 1, 2008 at the age of 35. Rest in peace, Tony.

August 08, 2008

Spanish old school Death Metallers GRAVEYARD are about to release 3 different split-EPs in 2008 and 2009. One through Nuclear War Now! featuring the song ‘What Dwells Beneath’ (together with DEATHEVOKATION), one on Iron Bonehead Productions featuring the song ‘Howl Of The Black Death’ (and the American Black / Thrash band TERRORIST on the other side) and last but not least one EP with Spanish Thrashers REDIMONI through Antichristian Front, which is going to release "Into The Mausoleum" soon, too. Besides that GRAVEYARD are preparing stuff for their first full length which should be available at end of 2008, latest early 2009. Next to live gigs in Spain together with DEMIGOD, NECROS CHRISTOS, HAIL OF BULLETS and LIE IN RUINS it seems to be busy times for GRAVEYARD.

Paragon Records have signed Germany’s ANAEL for the release of their new album "From Arcane Fires" in early Autumn. Guitarist / vocalist Seraphackh commented the new full length like this: "While its predecessor "On Wings Of Mercury" was a journey deep into the realm of the occult, "From Arcane Fires" is a little more direct, more rooted in history and personal experiences of a gloomy reality. This means not only the lyrics but also the music of our third album, and it was the main reason to choose a harsh, dark and epic approach for this monument. "From Arcane Fires" is aimed to show the darkness and the fire forming the foundation of our spirit and so of our music, and to set a sign that some flames will never be extinct." The tracklisting is as follows: ‘Devils Tongues’, ‘She Is Ever A Moon’, ‘Down Winding Stairs’, ‘Blood And Honey’, ‘Song Of The Moth’, ‘All Souls Night’ and ‘Muspilli’. www.anael.de

August 04, 2008

Klaus Kessemeier (ex – ASSORTED HEAP, BK 49) has joined Germany’s WEAKASIDE on second guitar. New songs have already been written and if everything works out as planned the band will enter the studio again at the end of the year to record their second album. For more info check out www.weakaside.de

August 02, 2008

Blabbermouth have posted the following news recently: Reformed Dutch Death Metal outfit ASPHYX – Martin van Drunen (vocals), Wannes Gubbels (bass / vocals), Paul Baayens (guitar) and Bob Bagchus (drums) – has issued the following update: "Good news. Within a year after the first reunion show at the Party.San festival (in Germany), ASPHYX already has written eight new songs, (with) maybe one song more to go. The tracks include all typical ASPHYX elements. Next week we’ll record some kind of instrumental pre-production / demo for ourselves. We expect the unexpected release of a new album in 2009 at Century Media Records! According to drummer and founding member Bob, this new album could be one of the best ASPHYX ever has released. So prepare for the new upcoming brutality!!!!" ASPHYX has just released a new seven-inch EP, "Death The Brutal Way", via Iron Pegasus Records. The single includes the brand new title track plus a cover of CELTIC FROST’s ‘Os Abysmi Vel Daath’ from the Swiss legends’ "Monotheist" album. Both cuts were recorded in January 2008 at the Harrow studios.