June 28, 2004

Danish Death Metallers EXMORTEM have severed ties with Osmose Records after only one release – 2002’s "Pestilence Empire". The band are currently negotiating a new deal which will be revealed soon. Meanwhile, the band have revealed the tracklisting for their as-yet-untitled new album via their official website (www.exmortem.com). Tracks to appear on the forthcoming release include: ‘Parasite Paradise’, ‘Flesh Havoc’, ‘Black Walls Of Misery’, ‘The Human Rape Symphony’, ‘Division Of Genocide Pleasure’, ‘Bitter Disciplin’, ‘Fix Of Negativity’, ‘Graveside Mourning Ritual’ and ‘Symbols Of Inhumanity’.

GOD DETHRONED will enter Berno Studios in Malmö, Sweden on July 14th to begin recording the follow-up to 2003’s "Into The Lungs Of Hell". Nine new songs are ready to be laid down for the as-yet-untitled effort, which is tentatively due in late 2004 / early 2005. In other news, God Dethroned, who recently replaced bassist Beef with a musician named Henk, have been confirmed for the Occult Fest 2004, a two-day event set to take place September 3rd – 4th in Hoogeveen, The Netherlands. Other bands scheduled to appear at the festival include PLEURISY, MORTUARY IOD, KATAFALK, MAKILADORAS, AS IT BURNS and MORNING. More info: www.occultfest.nl.

According to the official INVOCATOR website (www.invocator.com) drummer Jakob Gundel is a part of a new as-yet-untitled project. The band, so far consisting of Gundel, as well as Anders Høeg and Mikkel Sandager from MERCENARY, has recorded a 5-song promo. The style is described as "some sort of melodic Thrash." Stay tuned for more information. In related news, the site also reports that Invocator guitarist Flemming’s project SCAVENGER recorded a 3-song promo at Jacob Hansen’s studio, Hansen Studio, in the beginning of June. The group have found a singer in Sweden’s Lawrence Mackrory, who sang on DARKANE’s debut album, "Rusted Angel". The vocals haven’t been recorded yet but will be done as soon as possible.

Century Media has set September 7th as the release date for new albums from Sweden’s Death Metal godfathers GRAVE and UNLEASHED. GRAVE’s new album, "Fiendish Regression", was recorded at Abyss Studios with producers Tommy and Peter Tägtgren. UNLEASHED’s seventh release, "Sworn Allegiance", was mixed by Fredrik Folkare at Chrome Studios and mastered by Peter In de Betou from Tailor Maid Productions (DIMMU BORGIR, AMON AMARTH, KATATONIA, etc). "Sworn Allegiance" features the following tracklisting: ‘Winterland’, ‘Destruction (Of The Race Of Men)’, ‘Only The Dead’, ‘The Longships Are Coming’, ‘Helljoy’, ‘Insane For Blood’, ‘I Bring You Death’, ‘Attack!’, ‘CEO’, ‘One Night In Nazareth’, ‘Praised Be The Lord’, ‘Metalheads’, ‘To Miklagård’ and ‘Long Live The Beast’.

Canuck Thrash legends RAZOR have hired a production company and will be filming their upcoming appearance at this year’s Gates Of Hell Festival scheduled to take place at FunHause in Toronto, ON on July 24th. As previously reported, the line-up also features Canuck icons EXCITER and ANVIL alongside WARMACHINE, ROTTING, NITEMARE, VISIONS OF THE NIGHT, WILL OF THE ANCIENTS and SOUL LESS DIVINE.

According to a posting at their website, MARDUK will be entering the studio in the middle of July to begin the recording seessions of their upcoming ninth full length album. The band’s webmaster added: "We haven’t recieved any working title for the album yet and the only song title we can confirm so far is ‘Throne Of Rats’, a song that the band debuted when they headlined the Motala Metal Festival. The new album will be recorded at the local Endarker Studio (in Norrköping, Sweden). More information will be posted soon." As previously reported, the album is set to be released in November and will be followed by a massive world tour.

CRADLE OF FILTH are now half way through the mixing process of their forthcoming album, "Nymphetamine", which is currently scheduled for a late September release through Roadrunner. Mixing for this should be complete by the 1st week of July. The band’s A&R representative Mike Gitter had this to say: "I would have to say without a doubt, it’s CRADLE OF FILTH’s best record. Not merely a great CRADLE OF FILTH record, but a great Metal record. Both longtime fans and casual listeners will be pretty fuckin’ surprised."

SAMAEL have set "Reign Of Light" as the title of their new album. Recorded in Switzerland and mixed in Sweden, it will feature 11 new tracks including: ‘High Above’, ‘On Earth’, ‘Reign Of Light’, ‘As The Sun’, ‘Further’, ‘Oriental Dawn’, ‘Heliopolis’ and ‘Door Of Celestial Peace’ as well as three other songs. The album is set to be released this fall on Galactical Recordings with exclusive license to Musikvertreib for Switzerland and Regain Records for Europe / Asia. An American deal still has to be worked out.

ANOREXIA NERVOSA are currently finishing the recording of their upcoming album, "Redemption Process", at Drudenhaus Studios in France. The album will be mastered at the Cutting Room in Sweden. Tracks set to appear on the release include (in no particular order): ‘Antinferno’, ‘The Worship Manifesto’, ‘Sister September’, ‘Codex-Veritas’, ‘Mass Absolution’, ‘The Shining’ and ‘An Amen’. "Redemption Process" is scheduled for and early October release via Listenable Records.

Nick Barker (ex-DIMMU BORGIR, BRUJERIA, LOCK-UP) made a special signing appearance at yesterday’s DARK FUNERAL in-store signing at Dark Realm Records in Downey, California. Dark Funeral performed at the Gathering Of The Bestial Legion festival at the Knitting Factory in Hollywood, CA.

Report errors

Leave a Reply