August 22, 2001

ARCH ENEMY have canceled a number of live dates due to new vocalist Angela Gossow developing nodules on her vocals chords. She has been ordered by specialists not to sing at all for at least two months while she undergoes treatment

SINISTER‘s new album, Creative Killings, is out through Hammerheart on November 19th and features the POSSESSED cover ‘Storm In My Mind’

TWIN OBSCENITY have finished recording their new album, Bloodstone. The band recorded ten songs and has returning female vocalist Tonje back to deliver her angelic tones

The following is a statement from SCHEITAN‘s Pierre Tornkvist, "Scheitan and Century Media have come to agree on terminating the collaboration between the two. The split comes in a most friendly way and will not leave anyone disappointed. In the meanwhile, Scheitan will keep working on the forthcoming fourth album, Pentito. No new label has been announced yet for this album. Scheitan would also by this statement take the opportunity to wish Century Media the best of luck in the future and highly recommend the label to any band able to attract Century Media’s attention".

BENEDICTION will release their new album, Organized Choas, on November 13th in North America. The album with new singer Dave Hunt, is due out on September 10th in Europe.

DESTRUCTION release their new album, The Antichrist, on September 18th in North America. Tracks on the release include: ‘Nailed To The Cross’ and ‘Thrash ‘Till Death’.

In honour of KATAKLYSM‘s 10th Anniversary, the first pressing of their forthcoming album, Epic (The Poetry Of War) will include a bonus disc with old demo recordings. It’s out on September in North America.

LOCKUP are scheduled to release their second album early in 2002. On this release Tomas Lindberg (THE CROWN, ex-AT THE GATES) will take over vocal duties from the departed Peter Tägtgren. The line-up also includes NAPALM DEATH’s Shane Embury (bass) and Jesse Pintado (guitar) as well as Nick Barker from DIMMU BORGIR on drums.

SOILWORK are currently in Sweden at Studio Fredman working on the follow up to A Predator’s Portrait. The album is being produced and mixed by Devin Townsend (STRAPPING YOUNG LAD)

SIX FEET UNDER‘s True Carnage debuted at #40 on the German Media chart, at #18 on Billboard’s Heatseekers chart and at #17 on Denmark’s National Alternative chart

The following is a CANNIBAL CORPSE studio report from August 12th: "Hey all you Cannibal fans! Paul here and I am done!! The drums went pretty smooth and now we are working on guitar tracks as I type. We have the rythym tracks done for six songs and we probably have at least three days to finish up the gutairs… then it’s on to the bass. Everything is just working as planned and on schedule

KRISIUN kicked off their three week U.S. tour with IMMOLATION on August 9th

HOUWITSER are busy finishing their new album, Rage Inside The Womb, in Excess Studios. Tracks set to appear on the album include: ‘Exposed To Poison’, ‘Vengeance Needs Blood’, ‘A Bite Of A Deaseased Ratt’, ‘Unleash The Fury’ and ‘Gutted In The Gutter’. The album is out in October or November through Osmose. The band will tour after the release. In other band news, a new green vinyl 7" will be out soon through Displeased. It will include a cover of POSSESSED’s ‘March To Die’ and a track from the bands ’98 demo

According to the WITCHERY website,, the band’s new album, Symphony For The Devil, will be released on September 24th although the recent shake-ups at Necropolis Records may push the record back.

SOLEFALD have inked a deal with Century Media. The Norwegian band, formed by Cornelius Jakhelln (vocals, electric and bass guitar) and Lars Nedland (vocals, synthesizers and drums) is set to release their third album, Pills Against The Ageless Ills, in Europe on September 24th.

North American Black Metal, a European tour featuring GODLESS NORTH, KRIEG, INQUISITION and SECRETS OF THE MOON, kicks off on December 5th in Ypres, Belgium and wraps up on December 9th in Neumarkt, Germany.

AGATHODAIMON have completed the recording of the their new album, tentatively titled Chapter Three. It’s out in early 2002.

DIMMU BORGIR are planning dates in South America and Mexico.

CENTURIAN have added Jerry Brouwer (vocals, bass) and Oskar Van Paradijs (guitar). The bands next album, Liber ZarZax, will be out through Listenable in September.

ANIMUS MUNDI have inked a deal with the Dark Symphonies sub-label Lure Of Lorelei.

Tracks set to appear on the forthcoming ANCIENT album, Proxima Centauri, include: ‘A Lurking Threat’, ‘Proxima Centauri’, ‘The Ancient Horadrim’ and ‘In The Abyss Of The Cursed Souls’. It’ll be out in Europe on October 15th through Metal Blade.

AETERNUS drummer Erik has a new side project, BOURBON FLAME, with HADES ALMIGHTY’s Janto on bass and M-ETERNAL’s Arve on guitar.

Black Mark will release BATHORY‘s Destroyer Of Worlds album on October 8th in three formats: CD, LP and picture disc. Black Mark’s webshop will exclusively be selling the bands Katalog compilation from August 25th. For more info go to:

Report errors

Leave a Reply